Hummus.. Oh the possibilities.

Hummus

Is hummus an Asian food? Does the Middle East count as Asia? For my intents and purposes, I think it does. I mean, all those countries are kind of smack dab in the middle of Africa, Europe and Asia, so the flavors can travel in any direction, and I believe it’s more Asian. Probably. Maybe. Probably not. The more I think of chickpeas and the location of Egypt, the more African hummus gets by the nanosecond. But whatever.. my blog, my logic. I’ll stop that train of thought to justify this first recipe post.

Basic hummus recipe
2 cans chickpeas
¼ cup olive oil
pinches of coarse sea salt to taste
fresh cracked pepper to taste
garlic… as much as you please.
1 tablespoon of tahini
couple of squirts of lemon.

Add it all to a food processor, puree until your desired consistency. I puree extra long because I like it smooth and creamy. P likes his hummus like his women, so his is a tad chunkier. Sometimes we add extra olive oil if it’s not blending enough.

Most grocery stores sell chickpeas, also known as garbanzo beans. Goya is a popular brand that I usually buy, but sometimes store brand or the organic kind, depending what’s on sale that week. I prefer making hummus from canned chickpeas, because it saves a whole day. But if you want to cut down your sodium intake or save some cash, you can buy them dried. Just follow the directions to prepare on the bag because I sure as hell don’t know how. Also, if you can’t find tahini, you can totally just add some sesame seeds in the food processor with everything else. Sesame seeds are cheap and pretty easy to find. Finally, you don’t have to actually add any garlic. I happen to put it in everything though. Fresh, powdered, pre-chopped and put in a jar with water; they all work for me. If you use fresh, use less though. The flavor is intense.

So the fun part of hummus, is adding in stuff. My favorites include: pine nuts and basil (pesto hummus), a whole raw yellow onion, avocado and lime (guacamole hummus), or edamame (extra Asian). P’s favorites are red peppers, pepitas, or more garlic. Really, the possibilities are endless. Get creative. You could even substitute cannelini or white beans for the chickpeas (or do 1 can each of chickpea and cannelini! Also awesome tasting).

Just so you know though, my ideas are better than P’s. I’ll be posting some actual “flavored” hummus recipes soon, complete with photos.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Izzy says:

    Some days it feels like I live off this stuff!

Leave a Reply

