Broccoli cheese soup. Psych.

Edamame Mozzarella Soup

After getting Novocain to my face this week, nothing is easy to consume. I was just drinking some iced tea and it just started squirting out of my mouth. Pretty embarrassing, but no one was around to see so maybe I can pretend that did not happen. Chewing food is even worse. It gets lost in my mouth and gives me chipmunk cheeks. I can’t even tell. I have to stick my fingers in my mouth to dislodge the partially chewed food. If, for some reason, it doesn’t get stuck in between my teeth and cheeks, I try to swallow the bolus after chewing for a while, just to find that I haven’t really been masticating at all and I start choking. Good thing I’m AHA BLS certified. I can save myself from death!

Another side effect of the shots is the inability to open my mouth more than 1 inch. It’s basically my worst nightmare. I am almost always hungry and it’s annoying that I have to chop things into mouth-sized pieces and then still chew and choke. Doesn’t my mouth know this slows down my nourishing process?! I need this sustenance and I need it now and delicious!

So, I made soup. I know, I know. I just told you how my mouth could have been mistaken for a whale’s blowhole about 2 minutes ago. But at least I know soup will make it into my mouth and doesn’t involve chewing. It’s a safer bet.

You can basically follow any broccoli cheddar soup recipe and just replace edamame for broccoli and then mozzarella for cheddar. But here’s what I came up with.

Edamame Mozzarella Soup
makes 6 cups

1 pound shelled edamame
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon dehydrated onion
¼ teaspoon powdered nutmeg
5 cups water + 5 teaspoons Better Than Bouillon vegetable base (or just 5 cups vegetable broth)
A few pinches of salt & pepper
4 oz shredded mozzarella cheese (Daiya or Vegan Gourmet brands, to make it vegan)
2 oz cream cheese, cubed (Tofutti brand, to make it vegan)

Turn your stovetop on high. Bring water and bouillon (or veg broth) in a big pot to a boil. Then, add everything except the mozz and cream cheese. The frozen edamame will make the water cold again. After it has been brought to a boil again, let it cook for about 8 minutes. Turn off the heat, and remove the “soup” mixture from the heat. Use a hand blender to process it all until no full pieces of edamame are left. Add mozzarella and cream cheese and stir. The soup will still be hot so the cheeses should be able to make on their own. If not, you can turn the stove back on for a few more minutes to melt it. Honestly, you don’t even NEED the cheeses. I think it just makes it a bit creamier, but it actually is quite smooth and creamy on it’s own. Try it before you add them, and see how you feel about it.

Serve with crusty bread, if you can handle it. If not, add some oyster crackers in for extra heartiness. Here I have it with half a whole-wheat sandwich thin, topped with a little more melted mozzarella. I broiled it for literally 90 seconds to get it cracker crisp. It softens up really quickly in the soup, making it also edible for the masticating-retarded and the elderly population with false teeth. To keep it gluten-free, serve it with no bread. There’s also plenty of gluten-free bread and crackers out there as well.

Sorry for the crappy photo

I know this isn’t really an ideal summer recipe, but sometimes you just need soup anyway.

This soup is very loosely based off a recipe in an older issue of Vegetarian Times. I would probably say it’s more of an inspiration, as it end product has deviated so far away from the original recipe.

Leave a Reply

