Muhammara will kick you in the mouth!!!

20120306-203238.jpg

Oh geez Louise. Try pronouncing that without feeling like an idiot. Not that hard, but I still sound stupid. For some reason I always add extra syllables..

I came across this recipe from my Whole Foods app. I have had pomegranate syrup in my fridge forever now, but have yet to use it for anything other than drizzling it on fresh fruit with fresh cracked pepper. So when I saw this dip, I was like HELL YEAH I am so making this. And I did. Not that I’m ever sick of hummus, but damn I eat a lot of it! Variety is good, and so are roasted red peppers. It’s also got crushed pita chips and walnuts in it for crunch. Although the recipe is from WF, I adapted it to my liking/what I have on hand, as per usual.

Muharamma
serves 6-8 people as an appetizer, depending on how much they love it… so probably more like 4 people

A big bottle of roasted red peppers (or roast 4 yourself, peel and de-seed)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon pomegranate molasses
1 teaspoon sriracha
1/2 cup walnut pieces
1/2 cup pita chips
Half a lemon, juices
Salt, pepper, curry powder to taste (start with a pinch each)

Throw all that shit into a food processor until its a dip. Don’t blend until smooth though; you want the chunks of walnuts and pita chips to hold up. I often forgo the pita chips and add in corn chips or just double the amount of walnuts. The doubling of the walnuts is a good idea. Just do that for gluten-free-ness because it rules.

Muharamma can be made in advance and kept refrigerated for a few days. I made it the day before my engagement party (but quadrupled the recipe) and it was still awesome and crisp. In fact, I made some on Friday night and now it’s Wednesday and I’m snacking on deliciousness right now! Serve with any vegetable whatsoever, apples, bread or chips. It’s also a great spread on sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

