Mashed potatoes never look appetizing.

20120410-110938.jpg

Seriously, mashed potatoes never really look delicious in photos. They’re some of the tastiest foods, but it’s really just gross blob looking. Oh well, my photo won’t draw you in, but hopefully the goat cheese will.
Yeah, I said it. Goat cheese mashed potatoes. It’s heaven in a fucking bowl. I made this the same day as the broccmac.. And this disappeared wayyy faster than that! It’s also perfect for post-oral-op patients.. Delicious and no chewing required!

Country Style Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes
serves enough.. freeze the rest I guess
2 pounds red skin potatoes
1/2 cup of milk
3 tablespoons of buttahhh
4 ounces of goat cheese (I used a garlic and herb goat cheese. It’s advisable.)
1/2 cup of chopped onion
4 cloves of garlic, smashed and chopped
However much you want of whatever herbs you want. I used dried basil, thyme and sage. I do not recommend dried rosemary.. It’s just not texturally pleasing. Try chopped fresh rosemary though! It would rule.

Chop up the taters into 1 inch cubes. Bigger pieces if you got the time to kill, or smaller if you want them to get tender more quickly. Boil them until soft and easily mashed! While they’re boiling, sautée the onions and garlic until the onions are translucent.
Drain the hot potatoes and put in a big bowl. Add in the onion, garlic, milk, butter, goat cheese and herbs. From here, you can use a potato masher, an immersion blender, or however you usually mash potatoes. Go at it. I kept mine a little chunky (country style), which is fine because the taters are still really soft anyway. I ended up adding a bit more milk so it wouldn’t be so sticky going down. Somehow this makes it smooth and silky and yet still chunky! It’s better to add a little at a time and taste then overdo it. I’ve made my fair share of basically liquid potatoes. I don’t advise it. Do the same with the cheese and herbs.. You want the flavor but not overpowering.
Also, no salt is needed because of the goat cheese is salty enough! If you really feel like you need it, go for it I guess. I feel puffy enough without all that salt…

Leave a Reply

