Friday I’m in love | Matcha Love by Ito-En

20130803-044305.jpg
Lauren loves matcha and black sesame ice cream

I’m a Jersey girl, always have been, always will be. Deal with it or GTFO. One of my favorite things in NJ has always been Mitsuwa, a Japanese grocery store with a food court located in Edgewater, NJ. I grew up coming to Mitsuwa, and to this day (sort of), whenever I would visit my family in NJ, on my way back to Boston I would always stop at Mitsuwa. It’s tradition and I don’t give a fuck if whomever is with me doesn’t want to go. We are stopping.

Mitsuwa has a wide variety in their food court, ranging from savory to sweet. I love it all. For this particular post, I’m focusing on Matcha Love by Ito-En. Ito-En is a great tea company that makes a lot of good drinks that you can find in your well-stocked Asian grocery store’s refrigerated drink section, or loose leaf teas in whatever aisle those drinks are found in. Also, they make an amazing matcha, which is a powdered green tea. I make a great matcha cheesecake, but I’ll save that recipe for another day. Matcha is perfect.

Matcha Love makes awesome things with this powder and its highly addictive. Definitely get the matcha soft serve and die happy. My mom usually calls and asks me to bring her some of the black sesame soft serve home and sometimes it makes it there and sometimes it makes it to my belly.

20130805-171715.jpg
My favorite dessert and I don’t even love ice cream that much!

20130805-171732.jpgWe may have gone several weeks in a row.. Damn that ice cream is addictive! Maybe a shake next time.

Leave a Reply

