Weekly Photo Recap

  
    
    
    
    
    
    
 ice castles | ice castles | ice castles | Lauren | Lauren | Sadie | karaoke | hand drawn noodles | Byron | Kim | moto chicks | besties | baby shower | baby shower 

White Mountains, Boston, Philadelphia.. 

I never work. 

One of the perks of working in the human services/nonprofit field is benefit time. Yes, I love how rewarding it is to make a huge, visible difference in the developmental disabilities (and families!) community, but the pay isn’t as great as a hospital. I keep doing it because I love it, but I also enjoy only working 4 days a week (Monday-Thursday) and the ridiculous amount of paid days off I get. I started the year with close to 4 weeks sick time, 4 weeks vacation, and a week of personal days. Isn’t that absolutely insane?! And that’s not including paid jury duty and paid bereavement and paid holidays (12 days!). In addition, if you use your max sick time, my coworkers and I can donate sick time to cover the extra time you are ill. I think that’s amazing. And the more years I am with the company, the more weeks of vacation, sick, and personal I get per year. I started off with just 2 weeks vacation. And now, just over 2 years later, 4 weeks!!! And it maxes out at 6 weeks vacation. So generous and rewarding dedication. It’s amazing to see people with only high school diplomas be able to benefit from these policies too.

So, this week…

I went to see the Ice Castles in New Hampshire with Leigh.. So damn stunning. I want to go back really badly. I hope I have more time before it gets warm and it melts away. I will have more photos on Friday. The post is scheduled! 

I drank a lot of wine with Lauren in Boston (and ate Chinese food and macarons), and with Kim in Philly (and Mediterranean Moroccan food). I flew down to Philly for Emily’s baby shower for a longgg weekend. It feels like it was just yesterday that I was throwing her a bridal shower, but I guess that was almost a year and a half ago now! So crazy. I stayed with Byron in the Gayborhood and made sure to hang with Kate a lot. We hit up my old neighborhoods and haunts. I was bummed I didn’t see my friend Dave, but he is a bar manager so our schedules never really align. I’ll probably try to see him when I’m back in March to see the baby!!!

Anyway, I don’t really see myself working too much in February either. Expect to see more vacation vacation vacation.

Off to Portugal!!! I’m back February 11. Danielle +15. I am so lucky to have so many wonderful friends that want to celebrate my birthday month with me. I think it’s hilarious I have 15 friends on the same flight as me, with 8 hotel rooms booked, 4 rental cars, etc. 

I love my life. 

Leave a Reply

