Friday I’m In Love | Whole 30

Whole 30 has treated me well..

So in case you haven’t heard of Whole 30, it’s basically a challenge to eat only unprocessed foods for 30 days. That means no dairy, sugar, sugar substitutes, soy, grains, legumes, cereals, pseudo-cereals, sulfite, MSG, alcohol, chemicals, carrageenan, etc. Most of these products have to go through some sort of machinery, getting stripped of some of nutrients.  They’re not necessarily bad for you, but they’re not the healthiest either. Essentially, you want to eat food in it’s most natural form.

I think the first thing I noticed was that my food got more beautiful and thoughtful. I put more time and effort into preparing delicious meals. I felt more creative, almost artistic. Since my diet was essentially just fruit, vegetable, animal protein, it was all easy to put together and also easier on my gastrointestinal system for digestion!

I never really had a sugar problem as I tend to stick with stevia and don’t love pasta/bread/carbs with the exception of my ramen problem. I found the most difficult part was forgoing cheese. It took a second to get used to drinking my coffee black (although I kept my cinnamon routine), but I missed putting cheese on EVERYTHING! It’s seriously an addiction. How was I vegan for so many years? I craved cheese nonstop for about 3 weeks.. which sucks because I actually only did 25 days of Whole 30 due to my trip down to D.C. I think I’ll try again, but next month after I get back from Paris and London with my boyfriend. (There’s no chance I’m not eating crepes and eating some fancy cheese with my wine). 

I recently reintroduced cheese into my diet and it’s been a gas, literally. Goat cheese wasn’t so bad, but I had mozzarella yesterday and I can’t stop farting. Gas won’t stop me from eating cheese though, but I’ve switched to vegan “cream” and “ice cream” to balance. I think Michael missed me stocking up on ice cream and chocolate more than I did though. I’m perfectly happy with no chocolate, and only Halo Top! He wants 6 different flavor choices at once, and there’s already peanut butter cups and dark chocolate covered espresso beans back on my shelves.

Another thing I’ve noticed since ending Whole 30 is that I’ve been making healthier choices. Several of the meals I’ve eaten out since have been Whole 30 compliant, minus some mayo for fries, and some goat cheese on a salad. I could have easily left them off but I wanted to indulge. I also haven’t purchased any cheese for the house, minus my favorite smoked mozzarella balls. I’ve also been purchasing more vegetarian items. It really does make you reevaluate what you’re putting into your body.

If anyone is thinking about trying Whole 30, I highly recommend it. It is a true challenge, but very rewarding and a good reset for your system.

Leave a Reply

